NAATI Translation: Everything You Need To Know - SYL

GET a Quote




Live Chat

NAATI Accreditation

NAATI Translation: Everything You Need To Know

Posted on: July 6, 2017 by admin

Who is NAATI?

NAATI is an abbreviation that stands for The National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI), which, as the name implies, is the accreditation body for translators and interpreters in Australia, who is responsible of setting the national Australian standards for issuance of accreditation.

What does NAAT

request a quote online

I do?

For a translator or an interpreter who would like a professional career as a language practitioner, NAATI represents the only authorized body to issue an accreditation.

Who owns NAATI?

This is jointly owned by the Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments. It operates under a board of five directors, with the services being provided through the different offices present nationally in the different Australian states & territories and in New Zealand. Its national office is based in Canberra.


What are the different types of NAATI accreditation?

NAATI Accreditation tests come in four different levels, including:

  1. Paraprofessional Translator or Paraprofessional Interpreter
  2. Professional Translator or Professional Interpreter
  3. Advanced Translator or Conference Interpreter
  4. Advanced (Senior) Translator or Conference (Senior) Interpreter


The most common level of accreditation is that of a Professional Translator, previously known as level 3. This denotes competence for professional translating with the minimum level of competence required to work in settings including banking, law, health, and social and community services.

NAATI accredited translators who hold this accreditation can work across a wide range of subjects involving documents with specialized content.


Am I required to use the services of a NAATI accredited translator?

For documents issued in foreign countries which will be submitted to governmental authorities and tertiary institutions, you are required to carry these translations out by a NAATI accredited translator, otherwise they will not be accepted.
These documents are the most commonly required to be translated by a NAATI accredited translators: Birth Certificates, Marriage Certificates, Death Certificates, Police Checks, Drivers Licenses, Identification Cards, University Degrees, Divorce Certificates, School Diplomas, Passports and Police Reports. Many court and legal hearings in Australia also require the use of NAATI-certified interpreters.

How to choose a qualified NAATI translator?

You have to make sure to choose a renowned NAATI-certified translator or interpreter, as some of them are not really ‘qualified’ to carry the job. This is why at Speak Your Language, we regularly assess our NAATI accredited translators and interpreters and request feedback from our clients.


How much does NAATI translation and interpretation cost?

We offer the most competitive NAATI translation and accreditation services in Australia. If you would like, you can request a quote online and we will get back to you shortly with a great price!